Brian and Laura’s Meeting and Wedding

WeddingLeaving

Laura and I were married on June 29 2002. 6 1/2 years ago. We met in December of 1998 when I was out with Laura’s roommate Missy and my best friend Aaron Armstrong. Laura was a waiter at Willie’s Ice House (restaurant) so we went to eat there. This was the first I remember meeting Laura although we went to the same church youth group and had many common friends. It was Christmas break and I though it odd that she was wearing stuffed reindeer antlers on her head, all the while she was thinking it was odd I was wearing a santa hat out in public. Over the break we hung out in groups of friends and I found I really liked her, she had a genuine heart for Christ, was very funny and cute as could be. (more after the link)

WeddingStairs

(Reception at club house of Golf Club Augusta Pines)

I went away to ETBU where I was hoping to get a religious studies major and she returned to Texas A&M majoring in Journalism. Praise God for the invention of the instant message as we were able to talk daily via the internet. I also traveled down to College Station from time to time. The more I got to know her the more affection I had towards her. At the same time I was in Marshall, Texas (6 hours by car) and hated the experience. The classes were great, we’d study Scripture in such depth that I loved class. The overall experience was that most of the students were there by parent requirement and they had no love for God, but they were trained in looking like they did on campus. I also missed the interaction I had become used to with unbelievers at my previous college (Stephen F. Austin).

wedding

(Pastor who married us and friend on left Billy Pucket (Southwest Baptist Seminary, Rugby Player, taught me Calvinism) Me center, Sparky Laich on right, this is from Rehearsal Dinner.)

So I planned to transfer somewhere and because I had so many friends at Texas A&M and there was a girl there who I was quickly falling for I headed to College Station. We dated through college. I worked at a summer camp each year and Laura did the same after her junior year. It was there that she met her great friend Lara Cooper. It was also then that I knew I loved her and wanted to marry her. So I told her, she felt the same way. Working at Christian summer Camp (Balcone Springs in Marble Falls[near Austin]) was so great. Seeing Laura teach little girls and take life guarding so serious taught me just how great a girl she was. (For the record Laura prefers to be called a girl not a woman)

LauraWeddingShower

(Carolyn, Laura, Lara, Alissa, Missy, Joy, Scarlett at Laura’s wedding shower)

When we returned to A&M in the fall I proposed to Laura at the birth place of Texas, Washington on the Brazos. I had purchased the ring in Houston and gone there to get it a day earlier. I went to her Dad’s work, he was CFO of a bank so his office is a bit intimidating. I asked for his blessing to marry his daughter. His first response was, “How do you plan to provide for her?” So I told him of my good intentions of seminary and vocational ministry. He did give me his blessing and later said I was white as a ghost walking in there.

HoughWeddingFamily

(My family, Joy [brother’s wife], brother Brad, brother Matthew above them, Laura and I, Jayne [stepmother], Hank my Dad, and Greg my other brother above them)

I don’t have any pictures of the wedding itself or many from reception in a digital form. We were married in my my Dad’s church, Resurrection Lutheran, beautiful church building. We were not permitted to have the wedding march played because of some fundi rule, so Laura came down to Come Thou Fount which I think turned out better. Billy the Pastor referred to me as “Huff” as everyone in my life has until coming to Kansas. Kinda miss it. I believe it was, “Do you Huff take Laura…” We also had the song One Pure and Holy Passion sang by Laura’s sister-in-law as a prayer for our marriage (lyrics below). Laura’s sister-in-law is also named Laura, so she has my Laura’s full maiden name, Laura Celinski. They both worked for A&M at one point and my Laura was given sister-in-law’s Laura’s pay check. The wedding ceremony was beautiful. It was raining out and at the moment we kissed there was a giant thunder outside.

The reception was a great time as well. We had food and dancing and friends from high school and college along with our family and their friends. My oldest brother later said it was the first wedding he had ever been to that was like a movie wedding. Big thank you to our parents for the wedding. So that is the short version of how we met and wed.

“One Pure and Holy Passion”

Give me one pure and holy passion

Give me one magnificent obsession

Give me one glorious ambition for my life

To know and follow hard after You

Give me one pure and holy passion

Give me on magnificent obsession

Give me one glorious ambition for my life

To know and follow hard after You

To know and follow hard after you

To grow as your dicsiple in your truth

This world is empty, pale, and poor

Compared to knowing you, my Lord

Lead me on and I will run after you

Lead me on and I will run after you

Give me one pure and holy passion

Give me one magnificent obsession

Give me one glorious ambition for my life

To know and follow hard after you

To know and follow hard after you

To grow as your disciple in the truth

This world is empty, pale, and poor

Compared to knowing you my Lord

Lead me on and I will run after you

Lord to know and follow hard after you

And to grow as your disciple in your truth

This world is empty, pale, and poor

Compared to knowing you my Lord

Lead me on and I will run after you

Lead me on and I will run after you

Lead me on and I will run after you

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Brian and Laura’s Meeting and Wedding

  1. Mary Kathryn

    Thanks for posting this! What a beautiful wedding. I want to see more photos!

Leave a Reply

