Hippies!

Feb 2009 - 41

Brian bought a muffin recipe book about 6 months ago and came home telling me he was going to become a muffin-maker. Keep in mind, that while he is a great “helper” (just like I tell Beckham too!: ) ) and has a few meals he can pull off, well even, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten something that he baked!! So the plan changed to him writing down the ones he wanted! Here’s the first of three, I’ll post more later.

When Brian tried these he told me they were “earthy” which I thought was his way of telling me that I now have 4 dozen “earthy” muffins I need to figure out what to do with. But apparently he likes earthy! Whew! So they aren’t yummy in the same way the pumpkin ones are, but a healthy option! We named them Hippies.

Recipe:

2 c quick-cooking oats

2 c crushed shredded wheat (I used frosted Mini Wheats cause that’s all I had!)

2 c All-Bran

4 c buttermilk (I always make mine with 1T lemon juice per cup and then add milk to make 1 c)

1 c boiling water

1 c vegetable oil

4 eggs, lightly beaten

2-1/4 c packed brown sugar

5 c all-purpose flour

1 t salt

In a large bowl, combine oats, shredded wheat and bran. Add buttermilk, water, oil and eggs; stir for 1 min. Stir in brown sugar. Combine flour, baking soda and salt; add to the cereal mixture until blended.

Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake at 400 for 18-20 min. or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 min; remove from pans to wire racks.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hippies!

  1. Lyle Burton

    What kind were the other 999,999,952 muffins?

Leave a Reply

