Just finished reading the Twilight series

200905041334.jpg

I didn’t even know what Twilight was until right before the movie came out in theaters and we started seeing Twilight everything everywhere. When we asked about it, I was shocked to hear that it was something the girls liked (if you’ve seen the ads you can see why I was surprised. I was thinking more Lord of the Rings with the vampires and all). So when Brian rented the movie a few weeks ago, I really was prepared to fall asleep during it.

You know, it wasn’t half bad. This made me realize I needed to read the books, if for no other reason, so see what all these teenage girls are reading. I have to admit I skipped the first book (hello, I had just seen the movie! I hate that excuse, but I was really curious to see what happened next), and the second book was just ok as far as stories go, but I realized early on that this is exactly what I fight against in my ministry to teenage girls: the idea that nothing is more important than a boy and their world revolving around that. Sounds trite, but it’s so real in today’s culture.

While the series was a captivating love story, I found myself starting book three only wanted to be done reading. I couldn’t just walk away, not only had I invested too much time not to finish, I needed to know how it ended. So although I hated picking it up to read, I knew it was the only way to finish! And I just became more and more disturbed that this is the worldview that girls are being fed. I’m not anti-romance, but this girl is in high school and cares about nothing else and no one else than a boy. At the risk of sounding cheesy, I just kept wishing she would find her worth and self in Christ alone, because HE is very real and the only thing worth putting that much effort and love into.

Like I said, the love story was intense, and I would venture to say too intense for high school students. Even though there’s no premarital sex (I think the series prides itself in that), it was still very, for lack of a better word, “passionate.” I wouldn’t want my daughter reading about the physical longings that are deemed ok. I know this is fiction, I know it’s entertainment, but it still made me sad that girls are wanting this and thinking if they can just find their “Edward” everything else will be peachy and every longing they have will be filled in him. Problem is, they are looking for an “Edward” when they should be looking for all those things in Christ.

I love this verse in Psalms. I love that it emphasizes the singularity of our seeking after our Lord. I pray that this will be the prayer of the girls we minister to, as well as mine.

Psalm 27:4

One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after:

that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,

to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple.

In short, I feel like the Twilight series went against everything I’ve been praying for teens. And I wish I’d just waited and watched the movies!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Just finished reading the Twilight series

  1. I’ve been trying to decide whether to read the Twilight series or not. I think you just answered my question.

  2. Laura, I am with you on not knowing about the phenomenom. I didn’t have a clue in the beginning when people would talk about it and I had no idea why people were so crazy about it. I only recently read the series over spring break. Anyway, I agree that it’s not for teenagers, but I did really like the series. And the movie can’t even compare…the books are very well-written, in my opinion.

  3. Laura

    Michelle, I think that’s why I was more ok with the movie, it wasn’t as intense in it’s lustfulness (although that might change with the future movies!).

  4. Woody Woodward

    Talking about a redeeming book with God’s values! Laura, have you read the Francine Rivers book, “Redeeming Love”? It is a modern day story of the Book of Hosea. It may be considered by some as a “chick” book, but it is one of the most compelling books on unconditional love, forgiveness and the blessedness of a Christ centered marriage I have ever read. When you pick it up, plan for an all-day’er! You won’t be able to put it down!

Leave a Reply

